Eid = Storm

Well here it is my very first Eid and guess where I sit? At home instead of at Eid prayers. Today here in Nova Scotia we are having very bad weather. All the schools are closed as is our local community college. We got just enough snow to cause problems, what is worse though in the gusting winds that run up to 8o km an hr.

So what are we going to do this first Eid. Well my dear daughter has opened her Eid present. I got her a board game, so maybe we will play that. My daughter will probably wear her new abaya around the house and I’m wearing a new scarf.  For food lets see I think I will make up some of my daughters favorites…all Canadian of course.

I am feelig a bit disappointed because I was so looking forward to praying in congregation. I really wanted to feel apart of this Muslim community to which I now belong. So here I sit instead, perhaps I will go and visit some blogs this morning so I can feel the spirit of Islam that I can find here online.

7 responses to “Eid = Storm

  1. Assalamu alaikum dear sister. I was thinking of you earlier today and wondered how your Eid is going. Don’t worry about missing the Eid prayer. Allah will always give you another opportunity to go Inshallah. I hope you and your daughter have a very happy Eid. May Allah’s guidance and blessings be with you and your loved ones always.

  2. Eid Mubarak!!!! *hugs* from a sister in Australia.
    Eid is very much about family, so do enjoy it with yours even if you didn’t get to the salah.
    wasalamu ‘alaykum
    Umm Yasmin

  3. Eid Mubarak Sister, and more *hugs* from another Aussie!

  4. do visit my blog on quran, islam, tafsir, muslim life, ijtihad

    http://munir123.wordpress.com

    please pass around – thank you

  5. Belated Eid Mubarak! Sorry to hear you missed Eid Prayers. This year I spent my first Eid alone after 6 years, so I understand how it feels. God willing, next Eid will be better for you!

  6. Assalaamu Alaykum dear sister,

    I’m sorry your ‘Eid wasn’t as you would have expected. I pray that Allah blesses you with many more beautiful ones that will make up for this. How did it go? You haven’t blogged in a while. Wondering how you’re doing and would love to read about what you and your daughter did and cooked up on ‘Eid! Take care my sister!

    xxx

  7. Wishing you would update and praying you are well!

Leave a Reply

