What Would You Do?

Yesterday I was at work and I got a phone call from my dear daughter, she was in tears. She was in a fight after school. Basically two of the young female bullies in the school decided to beat her on the way home. What made this worse was the gang setting in which in happened. There were at least 6 other young students there encouraging it. My daughter is covered in bruises that will probably leave her sore for many days. I am thankful though that I have her here with me. Allah protected her enough that she got home.

I came rushing home, first to check on her. Then I contacted the principal of her school. I am not too sure how much he can do because the incident happened off school property. But he did say that the students involved would be spoken to. Then I took it one step further after talking to a few of my neighbours and seeing the extent of her injuries. I called the police. They came took a report, and said they would contact each parent. Because of the age of the children ( ages 10-12) there is little that could be done.

What would you do if your child came home beaten and bruised?

Here in rural Nova Scotia, I am told the youth violence, youth crime and drug usage are on the rise. Is small town living really the better way? It seems there is no programs, or when there is it is hodge podge so youth are lost between the cracks. I certainly don’t want to get to that point with mine.

4 responses to “What Would You Do?

  1. That is so awful for her! I’m so sorry she had to deal with that. The only answer I can think of is to homeschool, but I don’t know if that’s something you’d consider. At least that way, you and she would have some control over her social contacts. Otherwise, many prayers. Good for you for contacting the principal and police. What a sad comment on our society! I’m praying for you two today.
    Catherine

  2. Assalaamualykum
    So sorry to hear that sister! It must have been so scary for her. I just can not understand why kids behave like that. I wonder what their parents will do about this? Honestly I would be devastated if my kids had to hurt another child, and they would probably grounded until they 30!

  3. This is heartbreaking, may Allah protect you all. I would have done exactly what you have done. Can you walk home with her for a while?

  4. Dear sister, I just went back and read your comment about your daughter wearing hijab to school and telling her class about Islam. Please let her know that there are some all over the world like me, who will be reading this and feeling tears prickle in their eyes. Let her know that we think she is strong and beautiful, let her know that there are so many people who will support her, and that for every bigoted bully there is a person who sees how wonderful she is. My thoughts and prayers are with you both.

Leave a Reply

