Works for Me: When Embracing A New Faith

I think I am learning this new faith of mine:Islam. For me the transition from one faith to another sure has some bumps in the road. Some suggestions for those who are doing the same:

  • try to do so it a community of believers who can nurture you. Doing it on your own as I am doing is a very difficult road. I am finding that I have many questions and the Internet is not  the best place for answers.
  • give your family time to adjust to the changes in you. Don’t expect them to be happy about it over night. Remember they knew you when.
  • give yourself time. You don’t have to be perfect over night. I am thankful that Allah is kind and full of mercies.
  • dont become a I know it person, seek advice, counsel and want to learn more and more.
  • get a mentor: have somebody in your life you can turn to when you have questions or need advice.

For me so far these things are working. For me the hardest part of this walk for me is the isolation from a community that think the same as I do, that could nurture me, being a lone single  in small town Canada is hard.  Now  I am off to Rocks in My Dryer to see what works for other people in their lives.

2 responses to “Works for Me: When Embracing A New Faith

  1. Assalaamu Alaykum,

    Sis, I’ve tagged you over on my blog. Please have a look to see what it’s all about. 🙂

  2. Assalamu alaikoum, I am a convert also, i converted seven years ago now, and at the beginning I was very much alone, despite being in a city full of Muslims. I know how hard it is, but take comfort in the fact that it also has it’s benefits. Muslim communities can also be very difficult, i’m actually thankful now, that I had time to nurture my faith and learn before being plunged into community politics.

    Still, it’s important to have a support network, online is better than nothing, and you will find some very supportive women in the blog world.

    may Allah give you ease in your journey and help you to take it one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

