The Good of Islam

I recently visited a religious forum where Islam was being discussed, more it was as I read the posts one after one were filled with inaccuracies. So often the only Islam westerners see is the media and its portrayal of Islam. Where there has been some encouraging media coverage this is not often the case. Most often Muslims are seen as forcing their way even if they are a minority, seen as wanting to kill the infidel, etc. Most don’t even know a real Islamic doctrine if they saw one.

So let me be clear here there is much that is good in Islam!

First my faith is a pretty simple one especially right now. I believe in one God, that God, Allah, is master controller of all, and your creator. I have a religion that loves and savors PEACE! I serve and worship a God that is good.

My faith has me praying 5 times each day, at least. Why ? So I can be reminded in my worship and prayer who put me here and why I am here. I pray for forgiveness each time and try and live a pure and clean life.

My faith has me and fellow Muslims doing good to and for our neighbours all over the world, regardless of that persons belief. We often here of how christian organizations are out there doing good, well so are regualr everyday Muslims we just go about it quietly without fanfare after all who’s reward is it that we want? If you have never heard of the charitable acts of Muslims around the world, I invite you to read the stories of Muslims coming together to help others found on Islamic Relief, only one organization that does good every day, sometimes even in your neighbourhood.

My faith teaches me to obey the laws of where I live and to do so in peace, as long as I am allowed to worship.

My only jihad is to overcome the sin that is in me each day, and to fight it, and to draw closer to my God.

My Islam is full of good, now if only some were willing to see it. Maybe we could have more understanding, maybe we would understand each other better, maybe we could live beside each other in peace just as many early Muslims did with their neighbours for centuries and as many continue to do today.

One response to “The Good of Islam

  1. This is an interesting and enlightening post. I am a older Christian lady living in Ohio, and our area was recently hit hard by wind storms, causing us to be without electricity for more than a week. Of all our 20+ nearby neighbors, the ONE family that offered to help us and checked on us throughout the week was a wonderful Muslim family. People we’ve been neighbors with for more than 20 years didn’t even bother with us, but our dear new neighbors were so gracious, kind and generous to offer to help with whatever we needed. I was quite taken aback by this, but in reading your post I think I understand better. We could all learn from the Muslim faith, and be more charitable toward other people, regardless of race or faith. Thank you for starting my day on a positive note.

Leave a Reply

