My Shadada

What is a “shadada”? It is how one enters the doors of Islam. It is there statement of faith. It is a time of choice and I have made the choice and made my declaration of faith. I have made mine–all it takes is saying the below in Arabic in front of witnesses….

I believe there is one God! I also believe that Mohamed (PBUH) is his messenger!

Yes some here in the west will think I am making the wrong choice and on the wrong path but I do believe that God has me on this path. just as he has had a hand in all that I am and have been he is here too. For me Islam makes sense in an absolute way.

My christian friends I know will not be impressed, neither will my Mormon ones, but when it comes to embracing a new faith, a new way with it comes costs and I have counted those.

I am excited as I am fearful where this path will take me but I do know this that God is with me. Guess you can call me a Muslimah now.

8 responses to “My Shadada

  1. As salamu ‘alaikum,

    Congratulation on entering the blessed religion of Islam. May Allah (the exalted) increase you in guidance and understanding.

    I commend you for accepting Islam at such a strange time. Indeed there has been much distortion of the message of Islam in the media. Allah guides whom He wills and you are an example of that fact. He has blessed you to see the beauty of this way of life.

    If there is anything we might be able to help you with over at our blog by way of information and resources please don’t hesitate to engage us.

    FYI – http://www.sunnipath.com offers discounted and free classes for new Muslims. You may want to check it out if you don’t have consistent access to qualified teachers that can address your question and concerns at this important stage. In any regard, it a beneficial means of studying and learning step-by-step.

  2. Salam aleykum

    May Allah bless you and keep you firm on the path, I had this gutt feeling that you were going to embrace Islam when i left you that first comment.

    check out this blog
    http://muslimmatters.org/
    has academic muslim writers, scholars and some regular folks. some of rm are reverts too. they talk about important issues relevant to Islam and the west among other stuff

    and this website
    you check out seminars etc..
    http://www.almaghrib.org/

  3. As salaamu alaykum!!!

    MABROOOOKK!!

    May the MERCY OF ALLAH be always upon youuuu!!!! AMEEN

  4. Congratulations dear sister! May God bless you. If you need anything, I’m here ensha’Allah!

  5. Salaam Alaikum

    Mabrook & may Allah always shower His blessings upon you!

  6. Salam Alaikom,
    I pray this reached you in good health and high Islamic spirits.
    I hope you won’t find a lot of trouble with those who are around you, just try to keep in mind that when we lose something for the One and Only, we gain something else that is far better.
    May Allah bless you and bestow his mercy upon you, ameen =)

  7. Assalamu alaikum!

    Alhamdulillah.
    Mabrook! May Allah azza wa jal strengthen your Imaan and keep you steadfast upon the straight path. Aameen.
    “Our Lord! Let not our hearts deviate from the truth after You guided us, and grant us Mercy from you. Truly you are the bestower.”
    Aameen.
    Suraah Aal Imraan Verse 8.

  8. welcome dear sister. : )

Leave a Reply

